Assuming the sum of the disk usage of any user being removed in Direct Admin exceed a specific threshold , by default, the account will be deleted by a background process.

Instead of performing the execution on the foreground, Direct Admin will perform the deletion by adding the command to the background's task queue. This is to prevent the time out in the web browser due to the excessively large account size. The message prompt will show the following once Direct Admin assigns this task to a background process.

user too large, delete on background
The process will actually just be the dataskq

In order to solve this issue, you need to modify the value for “get_background_delete_size” in the directadmin.conf settings file. This can be done by login via SSH into the server using root access, and enter the following command:

cd /usr/local/directadmin/conf

Next, modify the directadmin.conf file by typing the following command:

vi directadmin.conf

If the variable "get_background_delete_size" value does not exist in the directadmin.conf , that indicates that the value of the "get_background_delete_size" is set to 10 gigabytes by default.

E.g. get_background_delete_size = 10240

You may also increase the value of the variable to the following:

E.g. get_background_delete_size = 20480

The 20480 is a variable that means 20 gigabytes is set. Additionally, you can disable the feature by setting the value to 0.
Was this article helpful?
Thank you!